phdparker
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi, hello, hey.
I'm not sure if there's an actual post on this, so I made one.

I am studying A Level English Lit. The exam board is WJEC and I'd like to know how I could exactly compare the pieces of poetry to attain a high grade?
I'm just wondering how the structure would be like.

Hope I've been specific enough. Thank you.
ashelisms
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
I am not in the same exam board, but I've done my fair share of poetry comparison, so hopefully these 'general tips' will help:

One thing: You've to be VERY familiar with your poetry selections. You don't necessarily have to memorise them (but if you have a photographic memory then it's an advantage), but you've to know the common themes in your selection and which poetry falls under which theme. What helps me is to make some notes, in this order (Theme -> Name of Poetry -> The phrases in named poetry which references the theme -> if any, technical devices). It's also a good idea to be aware of the context of the poems you've to compare!

Comparing them in the exam:
Say you're given a topic i.e theme of love and techniques of conveying it.
Write down a list of poems that you remember with this theme.
You can go two ways: talk about a sub-theme (say heartbreak) only or briefly touch on all sub-themes (heartbreak, romanticisation, etc etc). The former will require a minimum of 3 poems, but ideally should be closely analysed in the whole essay. The latter will require you to know a lot of poems, but you don't have to analyse them so closely, just enough to fit one paragraph per topic. Depends on what you're comfortable with!

OR

Say you're given a specific poem and you've to compare it.
If you remember what the poetry is about (or if it's given to you as an extract)
Write notes about its themes, its context and techniques. Make sure they link to the question!
From there, pull in from your memory poems which share similarities.