The Student Room Group

Can't make the right uni choice / bad AS grades

I need everyones advice! I'm in my second year of college so obviously thinking about unis. However I can't seem to make the right choice. I started to apply to do nursing but I think I'm making a mistake. I always wanted to do psychology because I find it so interesing however my grades were not good enough so I got told I'm simply not good enough. I had a very tough first year at college ( I'd rather not say which one but it's amongst top 10 in uk) I couldn't fit in, I asbolutely hated the people and the subjects, I didn't have any friends. This resulted in very bad AS grades (DEEU, English lit, late history, sociology and law which I now dropped). I know I messed up so now I have to do resits however I won't get to unis I want to go to because my predicted grades are not good enough. I got told to just apply to unis that have very low entry requirements because the college pretty much makes everyone apply. I don't know if it's a good idea to wait now and apply next year, when I know what grades I actually get and maybe have a better chance of getting in? Just want to add that all my GCSEs are very good I gained 15 A*-C, with triple science so it's not the fact I'm not capable of getting the grades just really hated the college I went to :/ any advice?
Reply 1
Take a gap year and apply when you have your grades. Bear in mind that Psychology requires understanding and use of scientific and mathematical methods (although whether it is a science in its own right is debatable). If you chose the A levels you did because you didn't enjoy science at GCSE, you might not enjoy studying psychology at degree level. However, don't let me stop you if you've read about it in depth and really love it.
Hi :smile: