The Student Room Group

Switching from Medicine to Chemical Engineering

Hi

I am currently in S6 (last year at high school for you english lot). Initially, I was hoping to apply for medicine however the grades I got were not good enough for it - I got AAAAC.

I have done a lot of research into a new career choice and found chemical engineering to be great for me. I have done plenty of research into it and have even spoken to current chemical engineers in the oil and gas industry.

My main dilemma is, I have so much for medicine such as experience in a hospital and in a clinical atmosphere as well as volunteering at the YMCA for over 8 months in order to show I can work with a variety of people including children. I don't know how I can transfer skills I have gained from volunteering with kids to chemical engineering as I'm not likely to be working with kids in this career?

Also, I have zero experience at chemical engineering, does that in anyway give me a major disadvantage compared to others?
Original post by 99duffman99
Hi

I am currently in S6 (last year at high school for you english lot). Initially, I was hoping to apply for medicine however the grades I got were not good enough for it - I got AAAAC.

I have done a lot of research into a new career choice and found chemical engineering to be great for me. I have done plenty of research into it and have even spoken to current chemical engineers in the oil and gas industry.

My main dilemma is, I have so much for medicine such as experience in a hospital and in a clinical atmosphere as well as volunteering at the YMCA for over 8 months in order to show I can work with a variety of people including children. I don't know how I can transfer skills I have gained from volunteering with kids to chemical engineering as I'm not likely to be working with kids in this career?

Also, I have zero experience at chemical engineering, does that in anyway give me a major disadvantage compared to others?