The Student Room Group

Let's talk about deadlifts.

I must be doing something wrong. I always hear deadlifts are the easiest lift to get a lot of weight on. However, I've been struggling at the same weight for about 3 weeks now (I'm a newb so I hear I should be increasing every session pretty much). I'm progressing well in all my other lifts, but I can't get past 65kg which is pretty embarrassing (I weigh around 56kg). My grip is one of my biggest issues- I have stuck to double overhand grip in an attempt to strengthen my grip but to no avail. Is my weight still too light to move to mixed grip for my heaviest set? Also would chalk/straps/ gloves be a worthwhile purchase? I see guys lifting like 4x what I can without chalk, surely it's not necessary? Getting increasingly frustrated with my deadlifts. In terms of routine I deadlift first, do 2 sets 50kg, a set 60kg then move on to 65kg. I managed 1x5 but it wasn't smooth, continuous lifts I had to stop and readjust myself and take a couple of seconds, is that okay?

TL;DR my deadlifts suck how can I improve

Posted from TSR Mobile

Scroll to see replies

I heard Elliot say on one of Strengthcamp's videos that doing farmers walk exercise can help increase deadlift grip and form.

Just a suggestion..
I found chalk helped me loads. There's no right or wrong time to use it, if your hands are sweaty and slippy then you will benefit from it. I use it on a few of my lifts now just for extra security. Try a mixed grip too.

In terms of form I can be of much help because I do sumo deadlifts, they just feel more comfortable. However maybe you could film a set and then it would be easier to see where there might be weaknesses.
Several factors here

1) Your form could be off in which case video it - put it on youtube unlisted (so it's not public) and then post it on the technique thread and someone will get back to you
2) DOH is horrendous to progress on, chalk it up and learn hook and/or mixed grip