Postgraduate Choices? Watch

Balloon Baboon
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hello,

I'm currently studying Law via The Open Universirty, course code Q79. I have always been a forward thinker and planner and I have decided that I would like to go further and study at Master's level.

My question. Is it possible or viable to finsish studying Law to then study a Master's Degree in Criminology? or would I have to say within the Law subject?

Thank you
nonswimmer
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
It would depend how much overlap there is between law and criminology.

Doing a Masters degree is not like doing another first degree. They build on knowledge you have already acquired, either through professional studies or an undergraduate degree.
Balloon Baboon
Rep:
?
(Original post by nonswimmer)

Doing a Masters degree is not like doing another first degree. They build on knowledge you have already acquired, either through professional studies or an undergraduate degree.

I see. Thank you for your reply. :-)
jelly1000
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by Lee R)
Hello,

I'm currently studying Law via The Open Universirty, course code Q79. I have always been a forward thinker and planner and I have decided that I would like to go further and study at Master's level.

My question. Is it possible or viable to finsish studying Law to then study a Master's Degree in Criminology? or would I have to say within the Law subject?

Thank you
If in doubt its worth emailing universities to see if they consider a Law degree appropriate. Do make sure you consider funding in your plans though, there are no tuition fee loans from student finance available, only a career development loan which you pay back one month after study and isn't guaranteed. And do be warned that for most careers a masters is not usually necessary.
noodlepie83
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago