Teesside Concept Art BA and De Montfort Computer Game Arts BA? Illustration?? Watch

AVGA17
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hello all!

I'm an International student (EU) and I'm in the process of making the final university choices for my UCAS application for 2015.

As I was doing my research, these two courses recently got my attention.

I am planning to apply for illustration courses in Brighton, Falmouth, AUB, Loughborough and maybe UAL. Ideally I want to bet into the Game development industry as a concept artist and I thought that an Illustration degree would be adequate and at the same time not too specific.

But then I saw these two courses, especially the one at Teesside which seems to be directed at pretty much the exact thing I want to do. I am thinking about whether or not I should put it down and Im currently finding myself in a dilema.

What do you guys think of these courses and the universities themselves? They seem alright and they have good student satisfaction rates. But their rather low ranking and 'unknown-ness' so to speak and their relative isolation from larger cities seem a tiny a bit off putting. Not sure if I would be making the correct choice here.... And if these courses are any good, do you think I should risk it an apply or go via the illustration way? Will that still manage to get me into the industry?

Also, if you got any thoughts about the other universities and their illustration courses that I mentioned which I'll be applying too, please share them all!

Please, any and all advice is welcomed with open arms! In advance, thank you all for reading and helping!
moid
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
The Game Art course at De Montfort is one of the very few decent games art courses in the country (after my own of course, ahem!). It's taught by lecturers who have worked in the industry. I don't know what it's like from a concept art viewpoint though, but their 3D work is very good.
AlphaDog0127
Badges: 15
Rep:
?