Independent Financial Status Watch

jad300
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi All,

Please could you advise on the following situation? I believe I should be receiving a full loan & grant but SFE have refused me so far.

I completed my original degree last June (2014) and whilst at university for my 3 year course I lived in shared accommodation contributing to bills and rent from a combination of my previous student loan and part time work which amounted to roughly 4k per tax year. Since leaving university I have been living in a combination of shared housing and I now reside with my boyfriend which until starting my PGCE, I contributed to equally.

I have now begun my PGCE this month with a very low payment from SFE and my boyfriend cannot afford to support the gap.

I think I should be declared as an independent student because I haven’t lived at home since September 2011 and have been self-sufficient in that time. I haven't received a penny in financial support from my parents in that period and although I have from my boyfriend, I am 23 and we are not married so his income cannot be used.

Please can you give me your views?
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Being under 25, the default is that you will be assessed on your parents' income, as you've found.

In order to be assessed as independent, you need to have been completely self-sufficient for a full three years before the start of your course. In your case, this means that you must have had no support from your parents since Aug/Sep 2011. This isn't limited to financial support and can include practical things. For example, if you went back to them during uni holidays at any point, and lived with them for free or at a reduced rent, then this will be taken as "support".