The Student Room Group

What subject for investment banking?

Ok right now im in my second year of A levels and i study maths chemistry and german.
My results were
A in maths B in chem and german and c in biology.
i have now dropped biology.

After talking with a teacher at my school about what subject to do at uni, he said that in top banking they look at the university you went to more than the course and grade. bearing that in mind i have been thinking of doing

Business management
Accounting and Finance
Economics
International Business

Preferably i would liek to study it with german due to the extra bit it gives me and that i enjoy the language. Please help out soon, could aslo do with tips on what to convey for this type of course in my personal statement.

The universities that i was planning to apply to so far are LSE, Imperial, Aston and Bath. I havnt made my mind up entirely yet, but are these universities realistic with my grades, and a good personal statement?

thanks.

Scroll to see replies

Reply 1
bumo
Reply 2
You got an A in Maths!!, i would do Maths without delay. There is no better course than Maths as far as IB is concerned. I would seriously recommend maths because you got an A in it and do Further Maths to AS Level if possible.
Maths and Economics would be good to if you werent 100% sure your maths was up to degree level.
Reply 4
Accounting and Finance and Economics is a great start! Durham is good for Acc and Finance. Though of applying?
You need to go to Oxbridge, LSE, Imperial, UCL, or Warwick. It doesn't really matter what degree to be honest. If you can't get into those universities, your chances will be limited, regardless of what you study. Please people don't take this personally, it's my experience being a politics student with an IB job for next year, from the people I've met at banks and assessment centers.
Reply 6
shady lane