Submitting work as an international student Watch

Opiece
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hey guys,
I'm a French student applying for HSPS at St John's. Like all HSPS applicants, I'm expected to submit two past essays, preferably related to the topic and in the 1000-3000 words range I believe. I should also scan the original copies.
The problem is, the only two subjects I have in English are English Literature and History & Geography. Sending Literature essays would be rather pointless, but I've only kept two History essays which are on a relatively similar topic. Basically, I have a very limited choice and I think these wouldn't be my best essays either.

So my question is, do any of you know if it'd be possible to translate an essay in French from another topic (Economics and Sociology for instance) and submit both the translated and original versions (as only one essay, of course)? I know I should contact my college's admissions office, I just wanted to know if any of you had already faced this situation.

Thanks!
alcibiade
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
My opinion is that admissions wants to see a) how you think and b) that you can write in English. Don't translate anything, it is too complicated - they won't want French versions.

Also, my d applied from France for hsps and wrote essays specifically for Cam, on request (they supplied the subject in her case). They will read them and grill you on them, if you get an interview. Write on something you know about and are passionate about. It is an opportunity.
icamui1
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by Opiece)
Hey guys,
I'm a French student applying for HSPS at St John's. Like all HSPS applicants, I'm expected to submit two past essays, preferably related to the topic and in the 1000-3000 words range I believe. I should also scan the original copies.