The Student Room Group

Panicking about new job

Sorry for the long post...

I'm a full-time student studying AS levels at college, and I've just managed to get a part time job in a hotel restaurant. I haven't started yet but I'm already having serious doubts about whether this is a good idea or not.

When I saw the offer I thought it looked great - it's a newly refurbished hotel in a pretty respectable hotel chain, looking for waiting staff, no previous experience required and all training provided, which is great seeing as it's my first job. I sent off my CV in a bit of a hurry, they called back and invited me in for a chat.

This was when they told me about the hours I would be expected to work - I would need to do 2 evening shifts a week from 6-11, and one day at the weekend - I can't remember the exact times but it takes up most of the day. Is this unreasonable? I'm pretty sure the maximum recommended hours for part time jobs while still in education was about 15 hours, but this job may be closer to 20, and I don't know if it's negotiable.

I also have a 30 minute drive to get there, and they said they closed at 11 so I would be out at 11:30, which means I would get home at midnight...which might not be the best thing since I have to go to college the next morning. I know my work will suffer if I'm tired, and then there's the fact that I have other commitments that take up about 2 evenings a week, leaving just 1 evening to do homework.