Council Tax Watch

Aviator
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I am a student and I received a letter from the council tax. According to my information since I am a student I should be exempted from paying any council tax. The letter I received shows that I am exempted from paying the council tax but they are requesting that I pay a charge of £37.24. Is this normal or should I go and contact them ? Thanks.
donutaud15
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Definitely contact them.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Asklepios
  • Study Helper
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by Aviator)
I am a student and I received a letter from the council tax. According to my information since I am a student I should be exempted from paying any council tax. The letter I received shows that I am exempted from paying the council tax but they are requesting that I pay a charge of £37.24. Is this normal or should I go and contact them ? Thanks.
Normally you need to apply for exemption

Posted from TSR Mobile
Aviator
Rep:
?
Yes I did apply. This is the price breakdown the sent me.

Gross Charge: 832.90
25% Discount: -12.43
Property Exemption: -783.23

Total 37.24
donutaud15
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Do you live alone? As far as I know you don't pay council tax if you live alone or if every person who lives in the house is a student. If there are people who are not students then you only get 25% discount so that breakdown could be right.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Aviator
Rep:
?
I live on my own. I will go tomorrow and check it out then. Thanks.
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
In order to get the full exemption, you need to get a Council Tax Exemption form from your uni and present it to the council at their Housing Office. If you haven't done that, then you'll be assessed as a non-student. Sounds like that might be the case.