Maintenance Fees- help? Watch

imyourlionheart
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi all,

I'm an Italian student (living in Italy) and I'm hoping to go to Edinburgh University in 2016 (I know it's a while away, but in Italy you're supposed to pick your unis before the start of the last year of HIgh School) . The reason behind this is that any EU student studying in Scotland doesn't have to pay tuition fees.
However, I have a bit of a problem regarding the accommodation and maintenance costs. Since I am from outside the UK, I'm not entitled to any loan, so I'd have to pay it all myself.

I still have a year and a half to go, if I start working now and save up the money, is there a chance I can pay at least a few months' woth of rent/uni accomodation fees, then get a job there?
Or am I being too irrealistic about the chances of finding any kind of work that could contribute?
My family earns very little as it is, so asking them for financial support isn't possible.

Does anyone have any advice?

Thanks in advance.
nearlyheadlessian
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by imyourlionheart)
Hi all,

I'm an Italian student (living in Italy) and I'm hoping to go to Edinburgh University in 2016 (I know it's a while away, but in Italy you're supposed to pick your unis before the start of the last year of HIgh School) . The reason behind this is that any EU student studying in Scotland doesn't have to pay tuition fees.
However, I have a bit of a problem regarding the accommodation and maintenance costs. Since I am from outside the UK, I'm not entitled to any loan, so I'd have to pay it all myself.

I still have a year and a half to go, if I start working now and save up the money, is there a chance I can pay at least a few months' woth of rent/uni accomodation fees, then get a job there?
Or am I being too irrealistic about the chances of finding any kind of work that could contribute?