Failing my driving test for the 2nd time has made my anxiety worse. Watch

This discussion is closed.
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
So I failed my driving test for the second time today and feel like an idiot. Especially because I knew it was my mistake. I can drive perfectly fine with my instructor but when it comes to actual testing I just **** it up completely on something so basic like a stop sign.

I hate failing at anything. I genuinely HATE it because it makes me feel stupid and inadequate. Like Im not smart enough.

I graduated with really good grades at school and I'm planning to study medicine, and I can't have all these little setbacks in life. This may sound really irrational but if I can't do a basic practical test (like driving) how am I going to be able to practice something that requires a lot of practical maneuvers (like surgery)?

The lifestyle I'm planning to enter requires me to not only be booksmart (which is easy for me), but also apply practical knowledge. I cannot afford to make silly mistakes else I might kill someone. I have to be more confident at practical things.

Does failing a driving test twice mean I'm not adequate enough on a practical level? Is there a way I can overcome my lack of practical skills?

On a final note, I know this sounds ridiculous. I'm just really panicked about the competency of my skills. Plus I feel like an idiot and I'm really considering using the bus for the rest of my life.
shawn_o1
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
If you live in an area where you do not need the convenience of having your own car, then you do not need to do any more driving tests.

(I'd say that hardly any "skills" you learn in driving are transferable to a medicine course)
asdfghjkl1234567
Badges: 3
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago