Weights routine for runner- muscle strength or endurance? Watch

hermitthefrog
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I'm a fairly novice runner, but I've fallen in love with it. I ran my first 10k race in June and am working towards a half marathon next year. I'm determined to get a time under the two hour mark so in august I started lifting to compliment my running. I do heavy, low rep compound movements 2-3x a week targeting my whole body. I also do a weights class 1-2x a week which focuses on low weight, lots of reps. My understanding is that with the first option I am training for strength, the second is muscle endurance. The thing is, doing weights 4-5x a week is taking it out of me and I'm only able to run 3x a week. Next year, I'd like to ideally increase my running to 4-5x and weight train 3x a week.
My question is, what's more important in my training? Strength or endurance? Do I need to do both or could I drop one of them? When I look at professional runners they are well defined, so they must be weight training, but they are skinny as anything, which is not something I'd associate with big, heavy weights.
If anyone could help me out with this I'd be grateful, so far I've not really noticed any improvements in my running as a result of lifting.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Angry cucumber
  • PS Reviewer
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Strength, mo farah for instance squats 1.5 times bw for instance

Posted from TSR Mobile
tomByrne
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
It is generally accepted that there are two different types of muscle fibers. Slow twitch (Type 1) muscle and fast twitch (Type 2) muscle fibre From there, you can further categorize fast twitch muscle fiber into Type 2a and Type 2b.

Type 1 muscle fibres are the ones you'll be interested in, these are predominately used in endurance activities, long distance running, swimming, cycling etc. To target these fibers you want to be hitting high reps 15+