[email protected]
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Currently, I am a student on BA Education Studies degree. After I graduate I am thinking of taking TEFL certificate to teach English as a second language in Saudi Arabia. I am aware that they need English native speakers only and I am prepared to take Cambridge's university English language test. However, I have been wondering if I need a PGCE in order to gain a teaching qualification or a good quality TEFL course would do?

Thank you in advance
yabbayabba
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by [email protected])
Currently, I am a student on BA Education Studies degree. After I graduate I am thinking of taking TEFL certificate to teach English as a second language in Saudi Arabia. I am aware that they need English native speakers only and I am prepared to take Cambridge's university English language test. However, I have been wondering if I need a PGCE in order to gain a teaching qualification or a good quality TEFL course would do?

Thank you in advance
TEFL or equivalent is all you need to teach English abroad.

Pgce is for teachers in UK schools teaching their subject(s) in the UK and lasts a year or two. TEFL can be completed much faster.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Caver
Badges: 9
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Saudi Arabia usually requires two or more years experience and a teaching certification in your country (For UK, PGCE) However, other destinations such as South Korea, China, Thailand and sometimes Japan (Japan is more competitive) just require a bachelors degree.
[email protected]
Rep:
?
(Original post by yabbayabba)
TEFL or equivalent is all you need to teach English abroad.

Pgce is for teachers in UK schools teaching their subject(s) in the UK and lasts a year or two. TEFL can be completed much faster.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Thank you for answering my question. I have one more question .. do I need a PGCE to teach in an international school abroad?
[email protected]
Rep:
?