The Student Room Group

(Slightly Premature) Midlife Crisis

Hi, this is my first time posting here, and hoping I can get some help to decide what I'm doing with my life and get past this crisis I seem to be experiencing lately...

I'm 22 years old, left education after college and have been working in the civil service since. The money is decent, and hours convenient, but the job itself is pretty soul destroying. My big ambition has always been to make a career in music, and taking this job allowed me to afford all the gear and equipment needed to set up and run my band.

Recently I've become exasperated at the lack of opportunities with music in my area (Swansea) and had the realisation that no matter how good the songs I write are, there's only a slim chance of me ever making it. I've found myself in a position with nothing else to fall back on, and terrified that I'll be stuck in a rubbish job on the edge of the civilised world for the rest of my life.

So the solution I've thought about is going to uni.

Graphic design has always been a big interest to me, and I still design posters for gigs/ album artwork etc on a regular basis. At A Level I had an A* for graphics, and outside of music, it's a career I could see myself happy in.

Is it worth me making the leap to return to education and uproot my life at this point? Is a career in graphic design achievable in this day and age? Is it too late now, and would I be looking at starting in 2016? And is it possible to get in with A Levels or would I need to look at an Arts Foundation course?

Sorry for the rant. This dilemma is all consuming for me at the moment, and I need to decide where I want to be going in life! Appreciate any input anyone has with this!
Reply 1
I went to uni aged 44, jacking in a 20+ year career in IT. So no, it's not too late for someone half that age :smile: