Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I am in my first year of AS levels, just about to finish and I am considering taking up the violin. I play the piano, to diploma level, and used to play the clarinet but I didnt like the breath control involved. I have a few questions about the violin

Is it silly to be wanting to learn at this late stage? How hard is the instrument? Are there any cheap ways to get an instrument and lessons to see if I like it KMS maybe? How cheap are lessons with an average teacher. I am guessing that playing the piano will help a bit in reading music and left hand agility but I dont know. Is the violin and piano compatable instrumnets?

ReputationRep:
    Silly ? No.
    Cheap ? Hire a violin, or ask your teacher if you can borrow one, for a few weeks.
    As for price, it depends where you live. It costs £20 an hour in London, just the same for all instruments, so probably whatever you pay for the piano.
    And...if you're diploma level at piano, you should probably have a vague idea of instruments "working" together.

ReputationRep:
    Violin is different from the piano in that it's not just about hitting the right key, you have to get your finger in exactly the right place, vibrating in just the right way to get a pure tone (though you won't start by doing vibrato). As you are already an accomplished musician, the reading music and understanding the shape of pieces wouldn't be too hard; it's just learning how to pitch the notes, and bowing techniques and everything. However, it will be considerably easier for you than for a non-musician to pick it up.

Lessons generally cost the same as any other instrumental lessons, and as for instruments, prices start at around £100 for a really crappy factory made import, to millions for a Strad or similar. I am not sure about hiring.

I play the piano and cello, so they're certainly not incompatible!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Womble548)