Confusion over University criteria... UNITS?

Watch
-Laureliz-
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi all,

In one of the university prospectuses I have seen that you require 300 UCAS points from A2 (6 unit) or 12 unit awards from a minimum of 18 units (any combination of VCE units/ A level units). I am from Northern Ireland, perhaps this is different over here? :confused:. What does this mean? I am currently studying Religious Studies (A Level), Information Communications and Technologies (A Level) and Health and Social Care (Applied A Level with OCR). Am I eligible for a course with this criteria provided I get the 300 UCAS points?
Thanks
User1333171
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by -Laureliz-)
Hi all,

In one of the university prospectuses I have seen that you require 300 UCAS points from A2 (6 unit) or 12 unit awards from a minimum of 18 units (any combination of VCE units/ A level units). I am from Northern Ireland, perhaps this is different over here? :confused:. What does this mean? I am currently studying Religious Studies (A Level), Information Communications and Technologies (A Level) and Health and Social Care (Applied A Level with OCR). Am I eligible for a course with this criteria provided I get the 300 UCAS points?
Thanks
Your A levels will count the same as 6 unit A levels do (some A levels only contain 4 units now-I'm guessing that might be why you're confused, it sounds like an out of date prospectus). They probably only mention units to distinguish between A levels and BTECs, which are the equivalent of double A levels (or 12 units).
-Laureliz-
Rep:
?
(Original post by mscaffrey)
Your A levels will count the same as 6 unit A levels do (some A levels only contain 4 units now-I'm guessing that might be why you're confused, it sounds like an out of date prospectus). They probably only mention units to distinguish between A levels and BTECs, which are the equivalent of double A levels (or 12 units).