The Student Room Group
Studying at Cardiff University
Cardiff University
Visit website

ADVICE NEEDED: I'm not sure whether should/deserve to be in university

I'm a second year language student in Cardiff uni and last year I suffered with severe anxiety and depression, rendering me unable to face the outside world (let alone lectures).

Now I'm on medication I can say that I feel a whole lot better but I'm still not able to bring myself to go to lectures. The smallest, most menial tasks seem to defeat me. I have missed around 3 weeks worth now and I am feeling extremely guilty.

I still complete all the work assigned at home but I just find it so hard to go to the lectures themselves in order to broaden my understanding. (I teach myself when needed - websites, textbooks etc)

I was just wondering if anyone else is or has been in a similar position to this and whether or not they had any advice. Because at the moment I'm feeling pretty useless and like I shouldn't be here.

Thanks guys,

M
Reply 1
Original post by Mkitty
I'm a second year language student in Cardiff uni and last year I suffered with severe anxiety and depression, rendering me unable to face the outside world (let alone lectures).

Now I'm on medication I can say that I feel a whole lot better but I'm still not able to bring myself to go to lectures. The smallest, most menial tasks seem to defeat me. I have missed around 3 weeks worth now and I am feeling extremely guilty.

I still complete all the work assigned at home but I just find it so hard to go to the lectures themselves in order to broaden my understanding. (I teach myself when needed - websites, textbooks etc)

I was just wondering if anyone else is or has been in a similar position to this and whether or not they had any advice. Because at the moment I'm feeling pretty useless and like I shouldn't be here.

Thanks guys,

M