Is depression my fault? I can't handle A-Level with depression.

Watch
Anonymous #1
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Currently I am 18 years old and I am in A2 - I retook AS again because I got poor grades the first time (D's and below)

On my first year AS retake I ended up with B/C/E (decided to do 3 subjects not 4)

and now my A2 exams (+ retakes) are coming up this Jan (I am studying internationally) and I have 6 weeks and 5 exams in total and I haven't studied for any of them.

The past 2 months I have spent just wasting time. I made a timetable but didn't follow it through. Gaming, Music etc..

I have been depressed for many years now but I have never felt it "isn't my fault" - I have always felt it IS my fault - I feel I waste my time and then I end up regretting it and that it's MY fault for feeling depressed because I waste my time and waste my life and I am a failure.

Is depression really a mental illness I can't help? It seems to me like I brought this on myself.

I am surrounded by plenty of people (friends, family etc..) but I am so lonely. Nobody understands me. I guess this is why I am here posting about this because I have almost nobody to turn to and this is just my way to vent out my emotion.
Kabloomybuzz
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
No, it isn't your fault, any more than getting a cold is your fault, its either to do with brain chemistry, or some trigger that was outside of your control. Feeling the way you do about it is not uncommon with the thought processes and feelings that come with depression. It distorts your thinking and it isolates you. Even if you're surrounded by people, not feeling able to express how you're really feeling is isolating and makes you feel lonely. There is a difference between feeling lonely and being alone. Depression is a self feeding illness, it makes you feel like doing the things that will just help it continue (self isolation, little motivation, thoughts and feelings of guilt etc)