The Student Room Group

Potential Optometry Students 2016

anyone thinking of applying for optometry (2016)? also what a levels are you guys studdying and has anyone started revising for their AS Exams yet + any good techniques ?

Scroll to see replies

The best technique for revision really depends on the student. Some general tips, though, would be to take notes, create mind maps, and I found that question and answer cards are very handy for memorising things and checking if I know the right answer. Also, I've found that taking regular breaks during revision and trying to get a good night's sleep are helpful.
Reply 2
I am :biggrin: I'm studying maths biology geography history with a view to drop history. Worried I may be disadvantaged as I don't do 3 sciences but it does say 2 on the websites :biggrin:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Reply 3
Hi

I am looking at Moptom at Man Uni

I currently have one week booked at Tesco Opticians for the summer. I also have 4 hours each week (starting next week) at a local franchise. Here, i can do as much as i want (and hoping it will eventually become paid)

I am also trying to get my primary and secondary school to let me in to help with the science classes.

I have also applied to a council ran youth club, to help with the 8 - 12 year old.

I am waiting to hear back from Royal Voluntary Service about helping out at my local hospital

Finally, i have applied to 3 eye hospitals, again for some unpaid work placement

This OK?
Reply 4
I'm hoping to study Optometry too! I'm doing Biology, Chemistry, Maths, French and Critical Thinking. It sucks that there isn't such a wide range of Uni's to apply to as for other subjects! Does anyone know how competitive places are? :smile:
Reply 5
Hi
I'm hoping to apply for Optometry next year.
Currently I study Biology, Chemistry and Psychology - my school only allows students to take 3 A-Levels (AS & A2) :frown:
Original post by AJB123