Wrong A-Level courses for Uni problem?

Watch
Tyler1409
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi, I'm a first year A-Level student and I'm thinking about doing an economics degree. However after looking on UCAS I've discovered that most courses require A-Level mathematics. The problem is I'm not taking that course. I'm doing Economics, Geography, Statistics and English Language. Its most likely to late too pick up another course now, so I'm not sure what to do, any ideas guys?
Safiya122
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
you could pick one up as an AS next year? and i mean economics and statistics is kinda maths related
Tyler1409
Rep:
?
Yeah I was thinking that, but do you reckon Uni's would still accept?
H0PEL3SS
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by Tyler1409)
Hi, I'm a first year A-Level student and I'm thinking about doing an economics degree. However after looking on UCAS I've discovered that most courses require A-Level mathematics. The problem is I'm not taking that course. I'm doing Economics, Geography, Statistics and English Language. Its most likely to late too pick up another course now, so I'm not sure what to do, any ideas guys?
Taking maths next year would not put you in good stead when applying to uni, especially for the top ones. I recommend doing maths now, either externally, or changing your courses, probably statistics.
Tyler1409
Rep:
?
Wouldn't it be too late to change courses now though? :confused:
someone you know
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Could always do a foundation year, loads of unis offer it and it basically consists of a year catching up with everything you would have needed at a-level before gaining guaranteed entry to the full course. It's only a year extra so you should definitely consider it.
H0PEL3SS
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Wouldn't it be too late to change courses now though? :confused: