Social psychology ideas?? Watch

Spacegem
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi all , newbie here so be gentle ☺️
Please can someone help??
i am a first year undergraduate and we have a social psychology essay due soon and I need to create an essay question to explore social psychology. I was thinking to do non verbal communication but what question??
Feeling really out of my depth at Uni and can't even think of a topic/question I'm doomed 😱 a nice calming influence would be great right now haha
Liv1204
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Thinking of topics is one of the most difficult things to do I find! I'm doing my MSc now and I still hate it. Once you have a question it seems easier somehow, it's working out the specific question that causes so much stress sometimes!

Some things you could consider related to non-verbal communication could be:

Are infants predisposed for social interaction? Looking at things which could be thought of as social behaviours in infants (e.g. smiling, crying, imitation, preference for human faces etc etc - all sorts of non-verbal communication!) - e.g. the evidence in support of these 'social' behaviours or whether they are just reflexes or involuntary actions
Looking at the importance of pre-linguistic communication between adults/infants
Evidence for and against different theories of language aquisition
Critiquing theories about the development of discourse/narrative skills (e.g. perspective-taking, fantasy/imaginative play, pre-reading and pre-writing skills etc etc)
Is language aquistion innate?

Hope that helps a little bit
Spacegem
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hi thanks for your reply,
I thought I had sent one back but it must not of gone. You made it sound so easy hope I get to that point! ☺️
Thank you
I was also looking at conformity I don't suppose you have any ideas for questions to do with that do you??