The Student Room Group

!!Dropping out of uni for medicine!!?? - Please help

Hey guys,

My situation is such a mess. I am currently studying biomedical science at manchester university in my first year (started September 2014). I have always really wanted to study medicine but never had enough confidence in myself and told myself I would never get accepted. But I have finally realised, if that it what I want to do for the rest of my life I should really do everything I can to try and get in to medical school.

At GCSE I achieved 6A*s, 3As and a C (in English literature). I studied chemistry, biology, maths and physics at AS and achieved straight As. I dropped physics after AS level and achieved an A* (in biology), A (in chemistry) and A (in maths).

Now the question is: Do I drop out of my current course and apply for medicine in September 2015 in hope for a place in September 2016? Or do I carry on with my course and then apply for graduate medicine? I've been told that graduate medicine is much more competitive. On the other hand, I would only be studying it a year later than if I dropped now since I wouldn't get a place until at least September 2016.

What is really making this a hard choice is the fact that there is no guarantee I would get an offer. I would hate to drop out of uni now and then end up coming back doing the same course, wasting time (years) and money.

Do I drop out now and do everything I can for the rest of the year to ensure an offer? Or carry on with my course and worry about it later on in life?

Thanks for the help.
You should finish this year of your course first instead of dropping out and then go for it!xx
you have no guarantee of an offer for September 2016, my advice would be to work hard and be in the running for a grad med place.
Check if any universities actually accept someone who has commenced a course and then not finished it. I have a feeling most don't.
Original post by JessicaLucy09