The Student Room Group

Online tutoring - tax advice needed!

I've been an online tutor for a tutoring website since January this year, so it's nearly a year since I started doing it. However, I was unaware that I needed to be registered with HM Revenue & Customs as self-employed until recently as I did a fair bit of extra work during my undergraduate degree (which I finished in June) for which I was not charged tax due to being a full-time student and not earning at least £10,000 or so per year. That led me to believe that if I was an undergraduate student I didn't need to apply for tax.

As of September, I am a PhD student and I earn a tax-free stipend from my university of about £14,000 per year. Basically what I want to know is do I need to mention that I have been tutoring since January, but that I was a full-time student for the first half of the year, and as of September I exceeded the minimum amount for being charged tax.

Could someone please give me some advice, as I'm quite confused about what I need to do and I don't want to end up getting penalised!
Reply 1
The tax year starts in April. So you're unlikely to have earned enough to pay tax for last tax year (2013-2014) if you only started the tutoring in January. However, you need to declare any money earnt this tax year.

Being a student has no effect on your tax status. It's just that many students don't earn enough to pay tax - which leads to people thinking students don't pay tax.
Reply 2
run the money through the cayman islands
Reply 3
Original post by Juno
The tax year starts in April. So you're unlikely to have earned enough to pay tax for last tax year (2013-2014) if you only started the tutoring in January. However, you need to declare any money earnt this tax year.

Being a student has no effect on your tax status. It's just that many students don't earn enough to pay tax - which leads to people thinking students don't pay tax.