Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    The linear transformation T:R^4 --> R^4 is represented by the matrix A, where

A=
    (1 -2 0 -3)
    (2 7 11 38)
    (-3 9 3 21)
    (-5 14 4 31)

i)Find the rank of A.

-----
    Sometimes the question asks we to "show that the rank of A is 2", but in this question, it didn't ask you to show but find it. I am new to this topic, and I find it really bad to reduce this to the echelon form without knowing what the rank is. And actually I don't know what is "echelon form", I knew this term in a solution given to a question.

In short, I would like to know what's the method to do this question? And can we know what its rank is at first, so it's "easier" for us to show the rank?

Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    Don't think there's a way to know the rank before finding it, but you absolutely have to learn the Gaussian elimination method to make a reduced row echelon matrix if you are to succeed in linear algebra. And when you perform the Gaussian elimination, the number of pivots is the rank of the matrix.

ReputationRep:
    You need to row reduce it. To do this, subtract 2 lots of the first row from the second, then add three lots and 5 lots of the first row onto the third and fourth respectively to get:

(1 -2 0 3)
    (0 11 11 44)
    (0 3 3 12)
    (0 4 4 16)

Then divide rows 2, 3, 4 by 11, 3, 4 respectively then add -1 lots of row 2 to rows three and four and you can see that the rank is 2 since there are 2 non-zero rows.

If T->V is a linear map and you know the Nullity and dimension of U then you can use the dimension theorem to calculate the rank. But generally you wont know this and you will have to row reduce the matrix.

ReputationRep:
    Thank you Juwel and El Matematico.

(Original post by El Matematico)
    You need to row reduce it. To do this, subtract 2 lots of the first row from the second, then add three lots and 5 lots of the first row onto the third and fourth respectively to get:

(1 -2 0 3)