Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm currently studying A level's (1st Year) and thinking of doing anthropology in university. But all i keep on hearing is that you "will have low salary or might not find a job". This kind of scares me but the more i read about the subject the more passionate i become about it. Just hoping some people could give me insight on this and advice. Is there any other related course i can do with a better future or should i just stick to what i want to do?

ReputationRep:
    It's going to be hard finding a job in anthropology, or a lot of related courses. You'd probably be best doing anthropology on the side as an interest or doing a joint honours degree probably.

ReputationRep:
    If you're passionate at it, go for it. Nobody has a guaranteed job once they come out of university. Not even Doctors are guaranteed jobs. You could do a dual degree to open up your job market. Maybe do Literature alongside it, or biology. Depends on what you like really.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by aoxa)
    It's going to be hard finding a job in anthropology, or a lot of related courses. You'd probably be best doing anthropology on the side as an interest or doing a joint honours degree probably.
    Thanks for the response, i know i could just do a marketing or business degree but I'm pretty sure i won't be as happy if I did anthropology. It would pretty suck you know being stuck in a job that I am not passionate about but just doing it for the money :P

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by shyaamb)
    If you're passionate at it, go for it. Nobody has a guaranteed job once they come out of university. Not even Doctors are guaranteed jobs. You could do a dual degree to open up your job market. Maybe do Literature alongside it, or biology. Depends on what you like really.