Not really enjoying my first graduate job, should I stick with it? Watch

LMH89
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Hello everyone,

The title says it all, I graduated last year and after constant rejections I managed to find a job in March, a role I was hesitant to accept after having interviews for other companies which I would have preferred, even though the job I have is better for my career in the long run.

Having spent nearly 3 months there I'm disappointed, firstly the training hasn't been great. During the first week my mentor wasn't there so I pretty much sat around doing nothing, I couldn't believe it when one guy told me to Google anything I didn't understand, then he would test me on the subjects?? :confused:

From here on the work picked up a little, as I have travelled around the country to gain a further understanding of the company and their systems. While interesting, I like the fact that I get out of the office which I really don't like.

Maybe I had the wrong idea, but everyone sits around in silence looking miserable, even when you walk in there is no hello, did you have a good weekend? At first I thought it was me, but no they all act like it, it doesn't help either that I am the youngest, there is no one my age and the rest are much older men. It didn't help when I visited another office that was completely different, everyone was doing their work but they were all laughing, joking and the whole office was personalised with experiences they had shared together.

Training is uneven, I hardly have any idea as to what I should be doing, I get bits of work here and there and I've only managed to speak to my manager twice as he's always in meetings.

All of this isn't helped by the fact that I go home alone every night and I'm just fed up, I hate to say this but I have a horrible feeling it is starting to lead to mild depression. I have no motivation to do anything and I am slowing giving up.