Turn on thread page Beta
    • Study Helper

ReputationRep:
    Study Helper
    Hi everyone

I'm currently studying for the LITB3 Gothic exam (Wuthering Heights, The White Devil and the Bloody Chamber), and I'm wondering if anyone has good advice for how to learn quotations? Which methods most worked for you when do you did this exam?

Also, how many quotations would you recommend learning for each text and how did you narrow them down? I feel like I'm ok with the analysis of everything, it's just the quotation learning and idea of a closed-book exam that scares me a little bit.

Thank you in advance to anyone who can help me; hopefully your answers will be helpful for some other people too. Quotation learning is something that isn't really required before A2 level, so it's quite an unfamiliar thing...

ReputationRep:
    Seriously hoping someone will contribute as I'm wondering the same thing!

ReputationRep:
    I am having the same problem! Currently, I am re-reading The Bloody Chamber stories and writing down any quotes that may be useful for the exam. I think taking care to ensure they are short and do not drag on is a good point. I think a minimum of 3 quotes per story is probably a good estimate however the more the better.

My teacher told me not to worry too much in an exam if I cant remember the wording exactly. As long as it is basically right then that's all that should matter (not for all exams... just closed book).

I think the key to being confident is to re-read and re-read. Find quotes that could be linked to LOTS of things so that you don't limit yourself.

GOOD LUCK!!

Any other tips would be super useful!

ReputationRep:
    I did this exam last year and am now studying English Literature at uni, so quotation learning is a big thing for me.