The use of a degree: MLitt Watch

linden7
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
So I've applied and been accepted someplace, and still waiting for the rest of the applications to trickle in. Of course, during the long haul and the scholarship search (I'm an overseas student), you begin to think––will this degree even *get* you anywhere?

From the perspective of the UK, what does an MLitt even qualify a person for, precisely? Or is it the unofficial stepping stone toward the MPhil? Is it the technical, niche end of a master's, whereas the Master's can teach? Or....

....please educate the American with international-edu. language barrier.
Klix88
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by linden7)
From the perspective of the UK, what does an MLitt even qualify a person for, precisely?
TBH, a Masters degree of any hue rarely qualifies you directly for anything. In the Humanities, it's usually necessary to have a Masters before you get a sniff at a PhD (although I'm sure there are exceptions). In my Humanities field, you need a Distinction at Masters level before you're even longlisted for PhD funding at some unis.

Or is it the unofficial stepping stone toward the MPhil?
As above, depending on your field, a Masters may be a prerequisite towards an MPhil/PhD.

Is it the technical, niche end of a master's, whereas the Master's can teach?
I don't believe there's that type of distinction between them. Certainly teaching duties are expected at every level of postgrad in the unis I've attended, as teaching experience is one of the benefits which are pushed to prospective postgrads. However there's rarely an equivalent to the formal US TA position. Most postgrad teaching in the UK tends to be more ad hoc.

....please educate the American with international-edu. language barrier.