Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

ReputationRep:
    Hi,
    Is it unrealistic to go for the barrister route given how hard funding is to get for the GDL, as well as how hard it is to get a pupillage and be a Barrister? Would I be better of becoming a solicitor?
    Thank you.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by EL77)
    Hi,

What are my chances of getting my GDL funded by the Inns of Court and then going on to become a barrister?
    I'm a first year undergraduate student studying BSc Economics at LSE. For my A-levels I got A*A*A*Aa (in maths, economics, chemistry, further maths and english literature respectively).
    Is it unrealistic to go for the barrister route given how hard funding is to get for the GDL, as well as how hard it is to get a pupillage and be a criminal lawyer. Would I be better of going the solicitor route into commercial law? Or even just sticking with Investment Banking?
    Thank you
    It depends on more than the information you've given us - the Inns do award scholarships for the GDL and BPTC, but the amounts available vary from inn to Inn and may have different awarding criteria. In particular they will want to see commitment to the bar, awareness of legal issues/interest in law, demonstration of relevant skills etc. Academically you're doing well so far, but academics alone won't get you it. Have a look on the various inn websites to get a feel of what they are looking for, and if you can, attend their events on this sort of topic.