Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

I feel a bit naive :ashamed2:, but I’m sure much sillier (albeit shorter) questions have been asked here…

Short version: Is an Oxbridge education a pre-requisite for the BBC?

Full version: I worked in IT for years, was never that happy, and the most recent position I had I hated to the point I felt compelled to leave asap. Started an Access to HE course in Sep knowing I wanted to do a degree and ultimately change career, but not really knowing what degree, uni or career I was looking for. Been strongly considering in recent weeks applying for English & Film degrees, as I love both. First set of (3) assignment results have been way better than I dared hope for, and my Lit Studies tutor recommended I aim for higher ranked unis (in terms of academic standards), including, perhaps, Oxford.

Tutor encouragement is great, but it’s sent me into a bit of a tizzy. I’m aware that:

1. Level 3 results can’t distinguish between very good and truly exceptional, so are of limited value in predicting the likelihood of getting into top-ranked unis.
    2. Oxford applications for 2015 closed in mid-October.
    3. Exeter (I think) is the highest-ranked uni that offers both English and Film.

I’m trying to approach this with a level head and not get all giddy about the prospect of going to Oxbridge. Key questions – Is it worth dropping Film to aim higher? Should I wait until 2015 to apply for 2016 to give myself a shot at Oxford? – are ultimately ones only I can answer. Career aspirations are weighing on my mind, however, and this is where it gets hazy for me.