Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am a first year Philosophy student in London, and am considering dropping out. I very nearly did a year out to shore up my maths and reapply to do Physics & Philosophy, and my alternative plans now are sort of based on that.

Essentially, although I have loved moving away, and have made some great friends, I feel like the course is not teaching me much. Some of the stuff is historical which I find incredibly dull, and much of the rest of the course material I knew already. I am learning some philosophy since moving to London, but that's almost solely been from conversations, networking, and outside lectures, seminars, and conferences in or around London that I've been to or been involved with.

My alternative plan may be to study something like Maths & Physics at the Open University (I do love Philosophy, but I have managed to teach myself fairly well in it, so not studying it formally as an undergrad is less of a problem) but I am unsure of how well this would work. With regard to funding, one great benefit of the OU is that their fees are cheaper so I wouldn't struggle as much as if I were reapplying to do PhysPhil at another UK university. On the other hand, I do not not know how much funding I would get, or whether I'd have to move back home. Would I still be able to live in London? Would I still get a grant or loan?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    Have you looked at the units for your second and third years yet? They may be more geared towards your personal interests.