Turn on thread page Beta

Abhor my course. Can't find a way out of this mess. watch

ReputationRep:
    I'm a full-time first-year student pursuing a bachelor's degree at a London university.

Now I've come to realize that I absolutely hate the course I'm studying and have no interest in it at all; this degree will also not allow me to embark on any careers I'd like.

I considered dropping out and starting in February 2015 at Open University as a 'full-time' student (i.e., studying for 120 credits per year) while working part-time, but this is not an option because Student Finance England said they can't offer me a loan for Open University next year as I've already secure one for my current university. (They said if I started a new full-time course, this would be possible, but in the case of OU this is not, as Student Finance categorize all OU degrees as part-time.)

I've also sent e-mails to random admission tutors from various universities but the general consensus is that I am unable to transfer at this point in the academic year.

Also, I've already taken a gap year after graduating from high school, and to start university again in 2015 won't be possible. My parents will not support me in this and neither do I have the stamina to start all over again. I must continue some form of education now.

What would be my options?

P.S.: I'd like to pursue a bachelor's degree in physics or natural sciences, and am very keen on exploring other forms of alternative education too (e.g., distance, work-based).

ReputationRep:
    I wouldn't recommend a job if you're going to be studying 120 credits. I'm taking 120 credits at the moment and there's no way I would have time even for a part-time job. This applies especially if your credits are at level 2 or above - as another TSR user put it, at anything above Level 1, "you either learn fast or fail".

ReputationRep:
    Thanks, but I won't be able to start at Open University anyway...
    • TSR Support Team

ReputationRep: