Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free
x Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hello,

I'm currently a sophomore in high school, my second of four years.
    I plan on applying to Cambridge for engineering or economics and I was wondering my chances of getting in.

I go to a selective, private school and take 3 honors classes and 1 AP.
    Nexr year I will take at least 3 Aps and 4 my last year.

I have a 4.1 gpa.

A 31 on my act but I'm taking it 2 more times.

I also play two school sports at varsity level and swim on a national-level club team year-round.

What at are my chances?

Thank you

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Gilliang9)
    Hello,

I'm currently a sophomore in high school, my second of four years.
    I plan on applying to Cambridge for engineering or economics and I was wondering my chances of getting in.

I go to a selective, private school and take 3 honors classes and 1 AP.
    Nexr year I will take at least 3 Aps and 4 my last year.

I have a 4.1 gpa.

A 31 on my act but I'm taking it 2 more times.

I also play two school sports at varsity level and swim on a national-level club team year-round.

What at are my chances?

Thank you
    Helloo

I follow the US curriculum too so I think I can give some advice.

Firstly, Cambridge requires applicants following the US curriculum to submit our transcript, but it is very minor, and as long as your GPA is decent, which yours definitely is, then its no problem.

As for ACT, 31 is not bad, but maybe take it once more and try to improve on that. You might not want to take it twice more, because Cambridge does frown on retakes to some extent, so do try to do really well on your next test so you don't have to take it again afterwards!

As for APs, you need 5 5s in relevant subjects. May I ask what APs you are taking, have taken, and will take?

Extra-curriculars do not matter unless they are directly related to your subject.