Hey there! Sign in to join this conversationNew here? Join for free

I'm an international student studying law, a subject with arguably the smallest number of internationals. Having studied in a high school where the language of instruction was English, I got good exposure to English before coming here. However I wasn't used to speaking English in daily life or to my friends. I do have a few friends here (and none of them are from my home country) but I still can't help getting nervous for whenever I speak to a native speaker. I start stammering and pronouncing words weirdly, and they sometimes come to the conclusion that I'm struggling with English because of this. If the person isn't a native speaker then my confidence returns.

It's not like my English is poor; in fact my written English is probably better than that of some native speakers. But I still feel self-conscious about my accent and the fact that I don't (and probably never will) speak fluently like a native.

How can I come over this irrational fear of mine? I cannot live like this forever; I want to establish deep connections with Brits too

ReputationRep:
    Really, forget about it. It is very unlikely it even occurs to whoever it is you are speaking to you that you have said a word wrong. Brits are very used to everyone else in the world speaking English to them so you are just one more - if you are anywhere near london, totally don't ever even think of this again. If you are in the provinces, slightly more of an issues, but still not an issue. if it is someone you think you will see again, just say 'I am trying really hard to get English right and improve for the sake of my legal career. You can help me if you think I need correcting - please correct me! I will be pleased and not embarrassed' - then they will feel ok about telling you about words you may be mispronouncing and you will learn.

You probably speak better English than a lot of Brits - really

(Original post by Anonymous)