I don't know where to go in life!

Watch
username1075708
Badges: 15
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi! I'm 21, I studied Media/Graphic Design/Photography through college & got a 2:1 in the subject with a foundation degree at university.

I've not been successful in finding a job with it. I'm stuck in retail full-time. As much as I love working with the people there, I hate the job!

I can't get a job I want because it's usually "you haven't got experience", I'm too nervous in interviews, or if I'm really interested in a job, it'll say something like "you need to have experience in (X)" and I don't have that certain thing. No one will ever tell you why they didn't employ you either - it's always a "Thank you for applying for the position of X at X company, but unfortunately on this occasion we have moved forward with other candidates" and they won't bother replying to you at all. It annoys me! No company seems to want work experience people either.

I either want to go into photography or journalism... or photojournalism!

Is my work that bad? Do you think that's why? I'd love to do more photography & writing, but working full-time doesn't let me.

My photography can be found on Flickr here. I like landscapes, nature kinda stuff. I don't like fashion/portrait style photography at all.

I also have an online news blog here.

I just feel a bit down with it all. I had a tonne of confidence when applying for jobs, but now I just feel like I'm rubbish at everything. I've had so many no's or no replies I feel like giving up.

What do you think I should do? How can I get experience? Who do I go to? Thanks
Queen Cersei
Badges: 18
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by 2scotty)
Hi! I'm 21, I studied Media/Graphic Design/Photography through college & got a 2:1 in the subject with a foundation degree at university.

I've not been successful in finding a job with it. I'm stuck in retail full-time. As much as I love working with the people there, I hate the job!