The Student Room Group

IT Consultancy - Please help

I am a sixth form student studying AS levels in Computing, Literature, Biology and Psychology. A mix I know, but my choices are already made. My intended career path is in the general direction of IT Consultancy, and I would like some careers advice. The degree I'm currently looking at is ITMB (IT for Business Management).

My questions may sound stupid, so please do bear with me. Firstly, how do I become a consultant? I've tried looking online and there's no clear path. Is the degree I'm doing relevant? Is it possible to become a consultant with no previous experience? My first year out of uni what would I do? Should I do a year in placement during my third year of uni?

Thanks in advance.
Reply 1
Original post by CarpeDiemJay

My questions may sound stupid, so please do bear with me. Firstly, how do I become a consultant? I've tried looking online and there's no clear path. Is the degree I'm doing relevant? Is it possible to become a consultant with no previous experience? My first year out of uni what would I do? Should I do a year in placement during my third year of uni?

You have 2 basic routes into consultancy:

1. Graduate scheme with a big consultancy - Cap gemini, Deliotte etc. These will typically be much more focused on the business side of IT rather than the in-depth technical aspects. Very hard to get onto, a huge amount of work required in the first few years. Alot of people burn out and drop out but it is the quickest way into consultancy.

2. Gain experience through support/development roles and then move into consultancy. This is the easiest way as you can literally start right from uni in a 1st line role, move onto 2nd line support and then onto projects/development before transferring to consultancy.

Your degree is much more relevant for the 1st route than the 2nd. Once you've got a few years worth of It experience (ie: the 2nd route) noone really cares about your degree anymore.