Maths - linear Hamming codes

Watch this thread
CammieInfinity
Badges: 1
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 7 years ago
I have attached both the questions and the 'answers'.
I don't see how finding a check matrix shows 3a) and I have no clue about 3b onwards.

In Q4 I thought you did n=(2^r)-1 and r=3 therefore n=7 but in the answers they have n as 14. I am v confused.
Attached files
BabyMaths
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 7 years ago
(Original post by CammieInfinity)
I have attached both the questions and the 'answers'.
I don't see how finding a check matrix shows 3a) and I have no clue about 3b onwards.

In Q4 I thought you did n=(2^r)-1 and r=3 therefore n=7 but in the answers they have n as 14. I am v confused.
I'm just learning this myself so I could be wrong..

Since there is a weight 7 codeword, the existence of weight 1 and 2 codewords implies the existence of weight 6 and 5 codewords respectively.

A weight 1 or 2 codeword is not possible since minimum weight for Hamming code is 3.

As for question 4, this one isn't binary. You need n=\frac{q^r-1}{q-1}

Edit:...and shouldn't it be 13?
BabyMaths
Rep:
Report 7 years ago
Your parity check matrix for Ham(3,3) can have as its columns all non-zero vectors in V(3,3) which have 1 as their first non-zero entry.

001, 010, 011, 012, 100, etc..
CammieInfinity
Rep:
Yes you are right I meant 13. Apologies. I see it now. I'll just ask my tutor when I get back about the other bit because I do not see the relevance of the check matrix.

I am also struggling with 1c) (new attachment)ImageImage