username1592465
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
Recently I've been doing some research into various modern language courses at different universities, and as someone who is interested in studying French from scratch, I've noticed that this is offered at VERY few universities.

Does anyone know the reason for this?

Is it because French is too difficult to be taught as from beginners level to degree level proficiency or because it's traditionally the language taught in schools, so they expect that most people would have taken it at A level if they desire to continue with it?

Has anyone studied ab initio French along with another language who could give me an insight into what it's like?
Paralove
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Pretty much every single school offers French, and if you had an interest in it then you would be expected to take it. That's why.

I'm currently doing a degree in French and ab initio Spanish, as my school only offered French for languages, so that's what I was limited to for A-Level, and why I had to pick up another language at ab initio.
Edminzodo
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by Quintessentially)
Recently I've been doing some research into various modern language courses at different universities, and as someone who is interested in studying French from scratch, I've noticed that this is offered at VERY few universities.

Is it because French is too difficult to be taught as from beginners level to degree level proficiency or because it's traditionally the language taught in schools, so they expect that most people would have taken it at A level if they desire to continue with it?

Has anyone studied ab initio French along with another language who could give me an insight into what it's like?
I think it's because most schools offer French already.

Posted from TSR Mobile
Leanne1455
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago