Join TSR now and chat about whatever you’re intoSign up now

Getting into film photography Watch

ReputationRep:
    Anyone have any advice on how to get into film photography without shelling out for courses?

Anyone know of any good books?
    Best beginner cameras?

etc.

ReputationRep:
    Hi, just wonder why you want to get into film photography when digital SLR/photography has so much more to offer. I have been using film cameras for many years and I will never go back to film, even though I have some brilliant cameras.
    Get a 2nd hand digital SLR with a couples of lenses and you won't look back.

ReputationRep:
    Hey,

I do have a digital camera but I think that film just has something extra, prints are so beautiful, I love the grainy look!

I'm also trying to find something new to try, and I'm not really enjoying using my Nikon D90 (and its a bit broken)

ReputationRep:
    Hi, try using your digital camera at maximum ASA setting, this will make the pictures look grainy, similar to fast film. If you also enlarge your digital pictures it will exaggerate the 'grain'.

The best way to get the most out of photography is to use your camera on manual setting.

The 'film like' qualities is possible on digital cameras - I've got a digital SLR called Fuji S5 pro, which wedding photographers loved because of it gave smooth film like pictures and a huge contrast range. It has a Nikon mount so you can use your D90 lenses, it has been discontinued for few years. but if you find one at a good price on ebay it may be worth buying, it will breathe new life into your pictures and renew your interest in digital photography.

Best of luck.

ReputationRep:
    I love film photography! Been doing it for a year now. Digital is all well and good but it definatly lacks a certain feeling to it. It makes you slow down and really think about what your doing and its a great hands on process instead of staring at some pixels on a screen.