Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi - I was thinking about learning Korean and I'm looking for information from anyone who has learnt/ is learning Korean.

How hard is it to self teach, and what sort of difficulties have you encountered?

*I would be a complete novice btw

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    안녕하세요!

Learning Korean can be really fun. I would start by learning Hangul, the writing system - it's super easy (I'd say it would take a week tops if you do a bit each day), and it really helps because the romanization in Korean can be really misleading - it never sounds like how it's romanized! The Korean Wiki Project is a good place start, or just find a hangul chart and make your own flashcards.

From then on, it's a matter of learning grammar and vocab. I'm not that far along here, but Anki is brilliant - it's a flashcard app that uses SRS to reinforce learning. There's loads of shared decks you can download so you don't have to bother making your own flashcards. Other good sites I use are Talk To Me In Korean, Korean Class 101, zKorean. There's so much out there on YouTube, Twitter, Facebook and even Instagram too to help you along.

It's also a great idea to surround yourself with the language - I love Korean music so listen to that, which is where I pick up a lot of vocab. TV and films are a good shout too.

Good luck! 화이팅!

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by JamesPallett)
    Hi - I was thinking about learning Korean and I'm looking for information from anyone who has learnt/ is learning Korean.

How hard is it to self teach, and what sort of difficulties have you encountered?

*I would be a complete novice btw

Thanks
    If you would like a free structured course then I would definitely recommend howtostudykorean.com