Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi Everyone,

Newbie here to TSR (Hi!:hi:) who would like to go into HE, but i admit i am struggling with the correct path to choose and financial options.

I'm 34, and went to the typical "Grange Hill" style abysmal local comp and left with mostly D/E/F grades at GCSE's and dropped out of a BTEC course after a year at college as i came from a poor background and was bored of not having any money and it was the singular biggest mistake of my life, something i am reminded of constantly as i have had about 30 dead end jobs in about 15 years, but have recently started work as a temp Caretaker at a local Uni and whilst my other co-workers treat it as a way to get beer tokens, i enjoy soaking in the atmos of the place, and i would SO love to get back into education, it's totally inspired me, i will be honest. I am a cynic and the funny thing is, the few weeks i've been here has started to melt the bad "dont get above your station" ethos that i learned after years of working with curmudgeons.

So i'd like to get back into education, HE hopefully this time, this would mean obviously an Access course but my GCSE's are so bad i think they would preclude me (D at Science and English, F at Maths) from going straight onto one, i understand from the research i've done so far that some colleges do a full time "Introduction to Access" style course, which includes doing Maths/Science/English GCSE's as well, but i've also seen this at the College of West Anglia in Kings Lynn, which seemingly allows entry onto the course via completion of an essay for assessment if you do not meet the GSCE level requirement for the course: http://www.cwa.ac.uk/cms_view.php?pa...5&template=yes