Join TSR now and chat about whatever you’re intoSign up now

Choosing the right guitar Watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey all

I'm in a band playing co lead guitar and have been doing grades. I've been playing for 6 years but I still own a Chinese made starter guitar. I am definitely the shredding type and into Ibanez guitars. I have been looking at the premium range because I have a tight budget. (Teenage kid paying for it himself. I know a lot of you know what I'm on about.) The problem is the guitars I want still cost like a good 1K and I don't want to buy an Indonesian built guitar for that much if the craftmanship is slap dash. Can anyone tell me about these guitars and if there are any possible alternatives?

Thanks

ReputationRep:
    From what I gather, simply being made in a "third world country" does not necessarily mean it is a bad guitar. What matters for shred type guitarists seems to be the neck quality, for which even low end Ibanez and Jackson guitars are generally considered very good. Things like the pickups and bridge can usually be modified after purchase if you don't like the standard models.

If you buy something for less than ~£200 then don't expect the craftmanship to be top notch, but paying more than say £300 ought to get you something of a good quality. As with ALL guitars - you need to play it yourself before buying it. Sometimes what should be a crappy guitar might turn out to be very playable and what should be a very expensive guitar just might not work for your playing style - every guitar is different even if they're made by a machine.

I suggest going to your locals Dawsons (or similar) and asking to try a few Ibanez and Jackson guitars on a good amp (preferably the same amp you have at home). Sometimes they'll put you on a crappy Line6 transistor amp - ask for something better and they'll always oblige in my experience.

ReputationRep: