Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi!

I'm a EU students dreaming about applying (successfully to Oxford.
    However, I am, well, poor - at least in comparison with the British standard of life. In my country my family leads a decent life but due to the difference in the value of our currencies my parents probably wouldn't be able to provide me with any significant help.

From what I gather, as a EU student I can get a tuition fee loan, and if I'm not mistaken, Oxford also cuts the fee by up to 3000 for the poorest students? I would also be considered for a bursary of 4500 a year. It seems to me, too, that there is another 1000 for the taking in your first year, and some colleges like Hertford offer additional bursaries - in case of this college, another 1000.
    It's a whole lot of money, but is it enough to survive on? I did some calculations and it seems that all that money would let me pay for the accommodation and food, but not much more, and there are some other costs for sure, not to mention flights to and from home.

It seems to me that working is discouraged at Oxford and probably there's not much time for that considering the heavy workload. I am a fairly established freelancer though and I could make some additional money through writing - it wouldn't be an amount to see me through each month though...

I have no idea if I could get in but I'd like to assess my financial ability before I start being serious about applying to Oxford so that I don't end up in and unable to go due to finances...
    Does anyone has any experience with making a living without the grants and loans available to Home students?
    Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    Hi!
    Im also an EU student hoping to apply successfully to Oxford.
    From what ive read, uk and eu students only have to pain tuition and personal costs, so no college and accomodation to worry about!