The Student Room Group

Help! A-Level Maths for a Scottish Student

Hi, I'm a Scottish student doing Advanced Higher Maths and Applied Maths: Mechanics right now (the Scottish equivalent of A-level). Unlike A-levels however we have no 'Further Maths', nor do we have the flexibility of choosing 'modules'. Now, I really enjoy maths and would be motivated enough to do an A-level course in Further Maths in my own time (my Advanced Higher pretty much covers the normal A-level Maths). But, I'm a complete stranger to the system!

Could someone please explain to me how the A-level courses are structured? If I wanted to do Further Maths at A-level, do I choose the specific modules I want to do? Do I then get examined on these modules, on separate dates? Is it actually too late for me now to have the time to be examined on all the modules? And what are all these exam boards about - do I just go with any of them?

I haven't done 'AS levels' obviously - is it permitted to simply sit an A-level this way?

My school would be able to get me registered with an English exam board if I wanted to do the A-level.

Thank you!
Original post by Ecasx
Hi, I'm a Scottish student doing Advanced Higher Maths and Applied Maths: Mechanics right now (the Scottish equivalent of A-level). Unlike A-levels however we have no 'Further Maths', nor do we have the flexibility of choosing 'modules'. Now, I really enjoy maths and would be motivated enough to do an A-level course in Further Maths in my own time (my Advanced Higher pretty much covers the normal A-level Maths). But, I'm a complete stranger to the system!

Could someone please explain to me how the A-level courses are structured? If I wanted to do Further Maths at A-level, do I choose the specific modules I want to do? Do I then get examined on these modules, on separate dates? Is it actually too late for me now to have the time to be examined on all the modules? And what are all these exam boards about - do I just go with any of them?