Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

I'm currently studying Philosophy at undergraduate level. I took this subject because I loved it at A level and I also had no idea what career I wanted in life, so thought I'd start by doing something I love.

However, I now have two more specific career goals in mind. For about a year now, I've wanted to do a law conversion course after my undergraduate degree, and go down the solicitor route. Although I find it interesting, I've never had a particular passion for law; I just think that being a solicitor would be a reliably well-paid job with interesting and variable daily work activities, as well as hopefully some excitement. I wouldn't want to be in one of the top swish London firms (too stressful!) but I would be happy in a small- to medium-sized firm.

However, more recently, I've suddenly had this huge (but not very explored) interest in psychology. My favourite part of philosophy is the philosophy of mind and after seeing a friend's psychology textbook from A2, I couldn't put it down! All the topics in it looked fascinating. I'm also excited by the thought that psychology is still quite a young discipline and there may still be plenty more to discover. That's the route I would want to take - research into the mind and mental disorders. However, I took no science subjects at A level; would this affect me in doing a psychology conversion course?

But more generally: should I take law, which will provide me with an interesting life and probably reliably good pay, or psychology, which I am potentially passionate about but which I might find more challenging given its sciencey elements and may not provide good pay?

Sorry this is a bit long and also a bit vague - just wanted to hear some thoughts!

ReputationRep: