Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

Nervous breakdown over essay Watch

I've been dealing with anxiety for about three years now but somehow managed to get into a top ten uni. I'm in my first year and have an a final essay for a philosophy module I'm taking due next Monday. I'm absolutely freaking out about it. The essay is only 2000 words but it's worth 100% of my grade. I swapped questions twice now and I simply don't have time to change again and I think they're all equally hard. In my feedback for my formative essay my lecturer said I needed to use more sources and be more original (I basically rephrased what we'd learned in lectures) in order to get a first but those are two things I just cannot do. The sources he's recommended include two whole books! The papers go into so much depth that I can't get my head around them. I try to be original but my arguments end up either not making sense or I end up reading them in another paper. I've been trying to draw up just a rough plan all day and I haven't even managed that. I'm seriously considering dropping out at this point. I just can't cope with this, I spent half an hour crying on the phone with my mum trying to calm down.

Any advice would be appreciated but I just really needed to get this off my chest.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Anonymous)
    I'm in my first year and have an a final essay for a philosophy module I'm taking due next Monday.
    Six days? That's plenty of time for a 1st year 2,000 word essay.

You need to do the plan first.

• Tuesday - what are the main themes in the text that need discussion? Make notes about those themes. Write down the references at the same time as you make the notes.
    • Wednesday - write an essay plan that gives the structure for the essay using the notes and themes. Put the notes into that structure.
    • Thursday - hangover
    • Friday - Turn the notes into proper sentences and paragraphs.