Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi There,

Please bear with me for a confusing post! I really need advice.

I am a Graduate medicine student in my first year.
    In the past I completed a BSc in Psychology for which I received student funding.
    I then completed a Professional Graduate Certificate in Education - a part time course which was semi funded. It was NOT a Post-graduate PGCE (see here... wiki article on levels of qualifiations... a professional certificate of education is at the same level as a bachelors degree...)
    I received some student finance for this as well as I was only being paid part-time for working alongside the course.

When I applied for student finance earlier in the year, I was pleased that my application was accepted (declared both degrees on the form, and did the online calculator first to check I was eligible, of course. Also phoned student finance 2/3 times to discuss my application and double check I would be eligible, as I never trust websites).

I applied to be income assessed, and I also found out I am entitled to receive a childcare grant towards my sons nursery, parents learning allowance and maintenance/tuition loan for some of the fees though not all. All of this allowing me to take up the place - and so I did...... relocating from Guildford to Derby with my son, age 1

All fine and dandy - received first installment in September allowing me to commence the course and pay rent/childcare/survive

3 days before christmas (2014) I received 3 or 4 letters from student loans announcing in various ways:

"You are no longer eligible for student finance because you have completed a course at the same or higher level than the one you are doing now"

?????