Join TSR now and get all your career questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    I finished my law degree in 2010 (2:1), I am currently completing a PGCE which I should finish in June 2015.

I would love to be a law lecturer within a University and thinking of either completing a masters in law or completing the LPC full time next year.

On paper then I will have the minimum academic qualifications to teach within a University.

Has anyone got any experience or advice on how I might achieve this, or is it a case of who you know?

ReputationRep:
    I have a good friend who is an archaeology lecturer and she had to have a phd before theyd give her teaching time in her department, and even then it is quite often a case of favouritism, atleast in subjects like that. I was doing a phd but dropped as i wasnt much for the toadying up to the big wigs in the department that was required to get even a part time lecturing role, the only reason i managed to get any teaching time in a uni was when my superisor managed to claim i was an external expert coming in to teach 3rd years about project management, but it was a stretch.
    I cant speak for law but certainly in archaeology/classics etc it was a case of who you knew, what youd published and what kudos you could bring to the department... Being male seemed to help too....
    • Community Assistant

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by slex88)
    I finished my law degree in 2010 (2:1), I am currently completing a PGCE which I should finish in June 2015.

I would love to be a law lecturer within a University and thinking of either completing a masters in law or completing the LPC full time next year.

On paper then I will have the minimum academic qualifications to teach within a University.

Has anyone got any experience or advice on how I might achieve this, or is it a case of who you know?